The Weight of the World

– Sanguine Hum

Release date: 25th Mar 2013


Album tracklist:

1. From the Ground Up
2. System for Solution
3. In Code
4. Cognoscenti
5. Day of Release
6. Phosphor
7. The Weight of the World

About this album:

The Weight of the World sees Sanguine Hum expand their musical horizons on all fronts with a seven-track collection of diverse compositions – technically challenging and exciting yet always melodic and direct.

Songs such as ‘From the Ground Up’ and ‘System for Solution’ pursue the Porcupine Tree meets Radiohead approach of the debut record “Diving Bell” with powerful yet intricate riffs propelling the songwriting that continues to make ever more inventive use of surprising twists and turns in the arrangement.

Surprises are to be found as well in the instrumentation as the band open up the sound and more explicitly reference a love of electronica and the music of artists such as Boards of Canada and Aphex Twin, best heard in the song ‘Day of Release’ as synthetic percussion and rumbling synths give way to chiming acoustic guitar and a soaring vocal melody.

Perhaps even more exciting for a band that perhaps held some of their Prog influences in check on their debut album, is the 15-minute title track that manages the task of combining effective and emotional songwriting with thrilling musical developments that push the band to the limit.

The Weight of the World breaks new ground for a band at the forefront of truly “progressive” music.

Joff Winks – Vocals, Guitars & Sample programming
Matt Baber – Rhodes, Synthesizer & Electronic Percussion programming
Andrew Booker – Drums
Brad Waissman – Bass

Recorded by Nick Moorbath and Joff Winks at Evolution studios, Oxford, October 2012. Additional recording engineered by Joff Winks at Yellow Benteens, Oxfordshire, Nov 2012 – Jan 2013.

Produced, Written, Arranged, Produced and Mixed by Sanguine Hum.

Featured review:

This is Progressive music at it’s progressive best in my opinion. There are traces of influences scattered throughout. I can hear Radiohead, Porcupine Tree, Mew and the aforementioned Lorien but it really is wrapped up in it’s own skin and provides a refreshing take on ‘Prog’ as we know it. Wonderful stuff.

– John Deasey

More reviews »